Saturday, April 25, 2015



To celebrate the re-release of The Key of Amatahns by Elisabeth Wheatley, Inkspelled Faery is hosting ten days of visiting your favorite authors as they talk about their very first novels, topped off by an all-day Facebook party with fun, games, and giveaways. Check out the full line up of authors and don’t forget to join the Facebook party on the 25th!


Shiovra has been named High Priestess of the village Tara, but she quickly finds herself hunted by the Milidh, a clan born of war and vengeance. With the safety of Tara at stake, it is decided that she is to seek aid from her betrothed, one she considers the enemy.
At her side is Odhrán, a Milidh warrior sworn to protect her and determined to gain her trust. But their journey is fraught with peril and Shiovra learns that darkness lurks in the hearts of her own kin.

Steeped in ancient Irish myth, this tale is spun of love, war, and DEFIANCE.

Kindle        |       Nook       |       Kobo       |       Paperback 

To start us off, can you sum up your first novel in a tweet, 140 characters or less?
Defiance is a journey into Irish myth & legend filled with the warring of two clans, betrayals, & a love that could be considered forbidden.

What are you most proud of in this title?
The strength and bravery that the main character, Shiovra, expresses. When I first created her, she was wishy-washy and always worried about one thing or another, not very likeable. Upon switching publishers, I took the opportunity to strengthen her as a character. I must have done well because feedback from readers was wonderful!

Do you think your writing has changed since your debut? In what way?
Yes, very much so. I started going into further depth with how characters feel so that the reader could understand them better. I think that originally my characters were a bit bland, perhaps bordering on almost similar personalities with each other. I also take into consideration all constructive criticism offered so that I can further better my writing.

If you could give one piece of advice to yourself when you were writing your first book, what would it be?
Don't be afraid. You can't please everyone. Each person has their own taste in books and sure, some people might hate the story, but others will love it. Write for them.

What was the first thing you did after finishing that very first draft?
I played video games for a straight week. [laughs] I needed a break from writing, a nice week long break playing video games to take my mind off it. After that week I began re-reading it and editing while also starting working on my current book series, The Chronicles of Midgard.


If you thought this was fun, drop by the Facebook party going down on the 25th for more interviews with your favorite Fantasy authors as well as games and goodies galore!

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Key of Amatahns blog hop party!


Come and celebrate the re-release of Elisabeth Wheatley's debut novel, The Key of Amatahns, with quizzes, giveaways, and games for fans of Young Adult Fantasy books! There will be an all-day party April 25th, 2015, but you can come, go, come back, pick and choose which authors you want to hang out with--your choice!

There will also be a blog hop with a giveaway from the 16th to 25th, where you can visit your favorite authors' blogs as they talk about their debut novels. Links will be posted here leading up to the Facebook party, so check back often!


Join the facebook event here:  https://www.facebook.com/events/413010932209458/

Sunday, April 5, 2015

Solace Review

Solace 

by Therin Knite

"Off to a never-ending war as a Red Cross doctor before Corina was even born, Luther Marion has been a constant but increasingly distant presence in his daughter's life for sixteen years. Damaged pictures. Short letters. And three brief phone calls received before Corina was old enough to walk. 

But now, Luther Marion has returned home at last--as a body in a box to be buried. Corina's mother is devastated. Her small, backwoods town mourns the loss of its local hero.

And Corina...isn't sure how she feels about the death of a father she never really met.

But when a mysterious old man confronts Corina at her father's funeral, she finds herself drawn to his impossible offer: a chance to know the now late Luther Marion. And in a moment of uncertainty, Corina makes a choice with consequences she can barely fathom. A choice that sends her to the last place she ever expected to go.

Her father's hometown. Six hundred miles south. 

And twenty-five years in the past" 
I must admit I fell in love with the cover the moment I stumbled upon it on Tumblr. That alone made me curious about the story and, after reading the blurb and learning the author was seeking honest reviews, I asked for a copy.

I quite enjoyed Solace. I wasn't too enthralled with Corina at the start, but as the story progressed, as she was offered the chance of a lifetime, she grew on me. I learned more about how she truly felt, understood her anger better. And Lu, oh how much I loved Lu. I kept hoping over and over that the old man who gave Corina the chance would somehow change the outcome. Unfortunately that didn't happen, but it all ended well. Corina got to the father she had never met, got to not only understand him better, but herself as well. It was a beautiful story and the growth of Corina was wonderful.

This is the first story I ever found a favorite line in: "I have plot armor." I laughed when I read that. Something I would totally say if I was in Corina's position. I look forward to getting myself a print copy of this book to add to my bookshelf.
You can find Solace on Amazon 

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Books for a Good Cause

11079769_10153221185953928_805494177_n
Nab Amazon bestselling YA Fantasy novel Thorn by Intisar Khanani for 99 cents April 1- 7 and help bring these two young brothers home. Described as "unflinching and exquisite," Thorn is a story of choice and betrayal, justice and compassion. Recommended for fans of Robin McKinley and Mercedes Lackey.
About Thorn 
Thorn_CoverFnlRevFNLF_low_resFor Princess Alyrra, choice is a luxury she’s never had … until she’s betrayed. Princess Alyrra has never enjoyed the security or power of her rank. Between her family’s cruelty and the court’s contempt, she has spent her life in the shadows. Forced to marry a powerful foreign prince, Alyrra embarks on a journey to meet her betrothed with little hope for a better future. But powerful men have powerful enemies—and now, so does Alyrra. Betrayed during a magical attack, her identity is switched with another woman’s, giving Alyrra the first choice she’s ever had: to start a new life for herself or fight for a prince she’s never met. But Alyrra soon finds that Prince Kestrin is not at all what she expected. While walking away will cost Kestrin his life, returning to the court may cost Alyrra her own. As Alyrra is coming to realize, sometimes the hardest choice means learning to trust yourself.


About Evan & Raymond
This sale is also about Intisar's good friend, Jamie, and the two little boys she and her husband are in the process of trying to adopt. Evan (age 7) and Raymond (age 9) are biological brothers, both born with Saethre-Chotzen Syndrome--a condition that results in brain damage if left untreated. They were each given up at birth, and were unable to receive treatment for their condition. These brothers have lived in an orphanage in Eastern Europe their whole lives. As boys who are older and struggle with developmental disabilities, it's almost impossible to find adoptive families for them. But Jamie has her heart set on bringing them home, and this sale is about helping that happen.
All of the proceeds from Thorn's 99 cent sale are going towards that adoption. Our goal is to raise $2,000 over the course of the week. International adoption is prohibitively expensive (often over $20,000), so every dollar makes a difference... You can find out more about the boys and Jamie, and link to their blog, here: http://reecesrainbow.org/83163/sponsorallison-3
And today, your help can make this goal a reality. Please share, tweet, and/or re-blog this post, and buy and give "Thorn" as a gift to friends and family! You can also invite your friends to the "Thorn Flash Sale" Facebook event. Help us bring Evan and Raymond home.
Thorn is currently on sale for only 99 cents at all of these e-retailers: